Mareko – White Sunday [2003] Flac + 320kbps

1. Espionage
2. Oh Shi** Ft. Psycho Les (Beatnuts)
3. Street Rap Ft. Inspectah Deck
4. Mareko (Here To Stay)
5. Why Is That?
6. White Sunday Sermon
7. Legacy
8. City Line
9. Big Dummy Ft. Celph Titled
10. Dont Need Protection Ft. Scram Jones & Roc Raida (X-Ecutioners)
11. Suburban Legend
12. Let Y’All Know Ft. J-Ro & E-Swift (Tha Liks)
13. This Is Me
14. My Lady
15. Major Flavour Ft. Sadat X & DJ Sir-Vere
16. Stop Drop And Roll Ft. Deceptikonz
17. Hook Up Ft. Dawn Raid All*Stars
18. Stop Drop & Roll Remix Ft. Scribe

after developing hip hop posse deceptikonz, independent south auckland label dawnraid has now started bringing these talented mc/writers out on their own merit, and this album is the first in that plan.
flown to new york for this project, mareko was signed to hrh records and worked with members of wu tang and the beatnuts and various ny producers, to bring this mixed aotearoa and us sound.

the vibe of the tracks varies from fairly hardcore x rated lyrics of ‘oh sh**’, the comic of ‘big dummy’ to the more sentimental ‘my lady’, with the self titled ‘mareko(here to stay)’ and ‘stop drop & roll’ singles both reaching gold status in nz.

the hooky beats and high quality production compliment the extensive vocabulary used by mareko, who seems to eat dictionaries for breakfast and supper.

references are made to various aspects of life in south auckland including samoan childrens day which is also celebrated in the title of the album ‘white sunday’.

this is definitely one to be recommended to hip hop fans everywhere, who should give this cd an opportunity to speak loudly for itself.